Youth Awards 2016

Hales & Loddon Cricket Club president Sir Nicholas Bacon presented trophies at the club’s annual youth awards event.

There were 15 different winners of the 17 trophies sponsored by local businesses and individuals. Sir Nicholas Bacon donated the award for sportsmanship, while the Roy Roebuck Award was donated by his family and the Jimmy Dye Award was recognition of his 67 years involvement in the club as a player and now helper.

“Sir Nicholas has been a great supporter of our club, and particularly the youth over many years now,” said club chairman Pete Dye, who announced that for 2017 Raveningham Gardens will be the main youth and shirt sponsor for the U11s, U13s and U15s teams.

Dye thanked Sonya Roebuck for the marketing and sponsorship of the youth awards and Dave Redford for the design of the event brochure and sponsors boards, as well as the club’s volunteer coaches for their efforts throughout the season.

“We have some excellent players within the club, and it is wonderful to be able to reward them with trophies, but without the support of local businesses and people, this wouldn’t be possible.”

Eleven sponsor boards were unveiled and will be placed around the club throughout the season.

“Special thanks go to Adnams of Southwold, who provided great support which allowed us to put on a day fitting for the President as well as the sponsors and supporters of the club,” added Dye.

The list of Youth Award winners was the following:

Ben Burgess & Co U8 Player: Thomas Green.

B R Rivett Motor & Agricultural Engineers U10 Player: Daisy Frost.

PJ Waylands U11 Most Improved Player: Oscar Whiting.

Ben Burgess & Co U11 Player of the Season: Edwin Dos Santos.

Ben Burgess & Co U13 Most Improved Player: Will Palmer.

Read Bros U13 Player of the Season: Billie Folkard.

SJ Scarlett Motor Engineer U15 Most Improved Player: Ellie Lyon.

Ben Burgess & Co U15 Player of the Season: Matt Buckingham.

Ben Burgess & Co Girls Player of the Year: Ellie Lyon.

Jimmy Dye U11 Coaches Award: Lloyd Battison.

Raveningham Gardens U13 Coaches Award: Kyle Feery.

Sir Nicholas Bacon Sportsmanship Award: Harley Roebuck.

Woodland Stoves Junior Clubman of the Year: Richard Cook.

Prism Print Monday Night Girls Training Award: Amy Bevan.

Sprake and Kingsley Monday Night Boys Award: Henry Frost.

Garrard and Flack Best Batsman: Matt Buckingham.

Roy Roebuck Best Bowler: Richard Cook.

All players who attended Monday night sessions received a certificate for effort and achievements and a medal.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s